While holding this rod, you can use your reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting merely you and not with an area of effect. The absorb spell ‘s effect is canceled, and the go ‘s energy — not the spell itself — is stored in the perch. The energy has the same degree as the enchantment when it was cast. The perch can absorb and store up to 50 levels of energy over the course of its universe. Once the rod absorbs 50 levels of energy, it ca n’t absorb more. If you are targeted by a go that the rod ca n’t store, the rod has no effect on that spell.
Read more : Top 4 consultants mới nhất năm 2022
If an foe is casting a go at me, when do I decide whether to use my reaction to absorb it, and how much information do I have about the spell being cast at me at the time I make that decision? For example, the enemy who is “ casting a go at me ” might be targeting me with the sphere of consequence of a Fireball, or targeting me with Charm Person, or targeting me and 2 other people with a 3rd charge Charm Person. entirely one of these cases satisfies the conditions for absorbing the enemy enchantment, so it seems that I need to know what spell is being cast and who it is targeting before I can even decide if it is potential for me to use my reaction to absorb it. however, it does n’t inevitably make sense for me to have this information at the time the spell is cast. An alternate interpretation could be that when a spell is cast, I use my reaction to attempt to absorb it, but if the spell can not be absorbed then my reaction is wasted with no effect. This seems like an disappointing rendition, specially in a site where multiple enemies are casting spells and wasting my chemical reaction on a go that I ca n’t absorb leaves me open to another go that I could have absorbed. On the early bridge player, the last conviction of the quoted paragraph seems to lend some accompaniment to this interpretation, although it ‘s possible that sentence is entirely referring to the rod ‘s limit storage capability.
Read more : Top 10 phi hành gia mới nhất năm 2022
then, is there an rendition that best fits with RAW, or is all of this in the territory of DM rule ?
note : You may assume that we are playing with the optional rule from XGtE for identifying a go. In practice, this will mean that I can not use my reaction to identify the entrance spell, because then I wo n’t have a reaction available to use with the rod. additionally, as the example above shows, even knowing the identity of the spell being hurl does n’t guarantee that I will know whether it can be absorbed .
Category : Blog
Leave a Reply