RAW is unclear
The Underwater Combat rules on page 198 of the Player ‘s Handbook are very short circuit and do n’t give a capital regnant on what counts as subaqueous combat. They state :
Underwater the follow rules apply. [ … ]
A ranged weapon attack automatically misses a target beyond the weapon ‘s convention range. even against a target within normal range, the attack scroll has disadvantage unless the weapon is a crossbow …
These rules seem to assume that all both the attacker and the aim are submerged. They besides assume the line of attack is submerged for it ‘s entire length .
In the case of watery sphere nowhere in its description does it mention whether or not the target is considered subaqueous. As spell ‘s only do what they say they do you could argue that this means they are not submerged. This does n’t agree with a logic rendition of the spell however .
On a fail salvage, a animal is restrained by the sphere and is engulfed by the water .
I said in an relate suffice that I consider “ engulfed by the urine ” to be equivalent to being subaqueous for the determination of drowning. The like regnant should apply here, although it is capable to DM rendition.
Read more : Top 4 consultants mới nhất năm 2022
As there is no accurate regnant to cover the condition where a creature is firing into water the merely right answer is “ up to your DM ” .
How I would rule it
here is how I see it and would rule as a DM however .
Ranged weapon attacks miss beyond their normal range due to the puff of the water. If the attack is in the air for the majority of its flight and alone enters the water immediately before striking the target this restriction does n’t make sense. The same intelligent apply for why crop attacks have disadvantage submerged .
With this logic I can see three potential coherent rulings :
Read more : Deloitte Singapore Career
- An attack uses the underwater combat rules if the attacker is underwater
- An attack uses the underwater combat rules if more than half its range in underwater
- An attack uses the underwater combat rules if more X feet of its path are underwater.
Of the beginning two, I am not convinced either way which is a better rule and have played with both. This situation is rare adequate that it has lone come up once or doubly with each convention and I have n’t noticed a major dispute. I have never used the third rule but may implement it the future meter this position comes up .
In the position of reeking sphere all the rules would mean that the attack is made with advantage in most cases. The attacker in not subaqueous and the attack in not submerged for more than half its range, consequently submerged combat rules do not apply. There is a slight luck that if you are adjacent to the sphere and attacking through it against a animal trapped 10ft from you that more than one-half of the distance is subaqueous, but this is an edge sheath .
In drumhead I would rule : The attack has advantage because the attacker in not underwater and the majority of the range of the attack is not made underwater.
Category : Blog
Leave a Reply